Kundalini and Chakras - Activation and Benefits


The word Kundalini means the divine power which is in an inactive form in the base of the spine or Muladhara chakra. This energy, when cultivated and awakened goes to the upside through the body and activate all chakras one by one. There are 7 chakras found in our body as our main energy junctions.

The chakras are as follows:
Muladhara (Rot Chakra), Swadhisthana (The Sacral Chakra), Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra), Anahata (Heart Chakra), Vishuddha (Throat Chakra), Ajna (Third Eye) and Sahasrara (Crown Chakra).

The chakras symbols and meaning are:
Muladhara = I am, Swadhisthana = I feel, Manipura = I do, Anahata = I love, Vishuddha = I speak, Ajna = I see and Sahasrara = I understand.

Muladhara is the 1st chakra located in root and basis of Existence. Mula means root and Adhara mean the basis. It is symbolized by a lotus with four petals and the color red.

Muladhara is located near the coccygeal plexus beneath the sacrumit, or superficial activation point, is located between the perineum and the coccyx or the pelvic bone. Because of its location and connection with the act of excretion, it is associated with the anus. Muladhara is said to be the base from which the three main psychic channels or nadis emerge: the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna. It is also believed that Muladhara is a subtle abode of the Hindu God Ganapati. In the highest revered prayer for Ganapati, the Ganapati Atharvashirsha, it is mentioned that "one who worships Lord Ganapati would easily grasp the concept and realize Brahman. The seed mantra syllable is लं (lam).

Swadhisthana is the 2nd Chakra and its meaning is "Swa" means self and "adhishthana" means established, so "where your being is established". This chakra is blocked by fear especially the fear of death. Svadhisthana is located two finger-widths above the Muladhara chakra. Svadhisthana contains unconscious desires, especially sexual desire. It is said that to raise the kundalini shakti (energy of consciousness) above Svadhisthana is difficult. Many saints have had to face sexual temptations associated with this chakra.

One who meditates on Svadhisthana is believed to obtain the following siddhis: freedom from enemies, the status of a lord among yogis, eloquence and clarity ("words flowing like nectar in well-reasoned discourse"), loss of fear of water, awareness of astral entities and the ability to taste anything desired for oneself or others. The seed mantra syllable is वं (vam/).

Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Anahata (Heart Chakra)

Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)

Ajna (Third Eye)

Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Popular Articles