Rishikesh, India

Moksha - End of Birth and Death Cycle

Moksha is also known as Mukti, Mukti simply means liberation from death and life. Before giving my own opinion, let's understand what our ancient book Geeta said about Moksha in Chapter number 18 which is the last chapter of Geeta. We must understand that Gita was a very important conversation about Spirituality. So for sure, the last chapter was very important. Hence, what could be the reason that the last chapter was Moksha?

The answer is simple, Moksha is our ultimate goal that's why it is the last chapter by Krishna in Geeta's conversation. After all the knowledge about Karma, Gyan, Bhakti, and other topics, Krishna is saying to Arjuna in Chapter 18 and Verse 30:

प्रवत्तिं च निवृत्तिं च कार्याकार्ये भयाभये।
बन्धं मोक्षं च या वेति बुद्धिः सा पार्थ सात्त्विकी ৷৷18.30৷৷

Pravṛttiṅ ca nivṛttiṅ ca kāryākāryē bhayābhayē.
Bandhaṅ mōkṣaṅ ca yā vētti buddhiḥ sā pārtha sāttvikī ৷৷18.30৷৷

Hey Arjuna, that intellectual who does not involve "Pravritti" or "Nivritti", knows the real meaning of Responsibility and irresponsibility, fear and courage, attachment and non-attachment is called "Satviki". Sativki intellectual simply means who always trusts God and thinks positively.

Why Moksha is our main goal?

Moksha is our primary goal. The earth is very beautiful and Devas are also wishing to take birth here but unfortunately, there is a life and death circle on earth. One who takes birth, no matter how famous or successful he/she is, will die one day. An enlightened person such as Buddha also died of food poison. The earth is like a beautiful resort but unfortunately, there is a check-out date that we do not know when it is. What we know is yes, there is a date and we are unlucky that we forget also this very true sentence of death.

Moksha is a complete 100% truth where there is no chance of a lie. Moksha is not the thing that may or may not happen, it will happen for sure. The only factor is "TIME". Some people who follow the path of spirituality get Moksha faster than the person who follows the path of Ego, Negativity, and evil. Like Ravana, he got Moksha following the path of holiness but Moksha is for all, god gives it to all. The wise person chooses a good karma path to achieve Moksha because this path is safe and peaceful. But Ravana disturbed humanity and peace while getting the Moksha.

The word Moksha comes from 2 main words: Moh means Attachment, and Kshaya means Destroy. Thus, to destroy the attachment is "Mosksha". Moksha gives us the right justice because we are wandering from many lives seeking God. Moksha is not the "death", every person who died is not getting Moksha. Indeed, when we finish our pending good karma and bad karma, we immediately get Moksha. According to Mathematics, a circle is never ending object. That's why the Sansar (Material World) is called a circle of life and death.

Important terms to understand Moksha

Atma ( Soul)

The Atma is our true self. Whatever is happening outside in the material world, does not belong to Atma. In Geeta's Book, Krishna is saying about Atma to Arjuna:

Sanskrit Shloka:
नैनं छिन्दन्ति शस्त्राणि नैनं दहति पावकः।
न चैनं क्लेदयन्त्यापो न शोषयति मारुतः॥
Source – Shrimad Bhagavad Gita 2nd Chapter, Verse 23

English Citation:
nainam chindanti shastrani, nainam dahati pavaka
na cainam kledayantyapo, na sosayati marutah.

nainaṃ chindanti śastrāṇi nainaṃ dahati pāvakaḥ
na cainaṃ kledayantyāpo na śoṣayati mārutaḥ

na—not; enam—this soul; chhindanti—shred; śhastrāṇi—weapons; na—nor; enam—this soul; dahati—burns; pāvakaḥ—fire; na—not; cha—and; enam—this soul; kledayanti—moisten; āpaḥ—water; na—nor; śhoṣhayati—dry; mārutaḥ—wind

English Meaning:
Weapons cannot shred the soul, nor can fire burn it.
Water cannot wet it, nor can the wind dry it.

Hindi Meaning:
आत्मा को न शस्त्र द्वारा काटा जा सकता है, न नहीं आग द्वारा जलाया जा सकता है,
न ही जल इसे गला सकता है और ना ही वायु इसे सूखा सकती है।

Jivatma (Layer of Soul)

Jiva Atma is layer of soul. Jivatma comes from 2 words: Jiva means Human being (anyone that has a soul) and Atma means soul. Just because Atma is immortal, so you may be wondering someday how Atma will be punished by Yamraj if Atma is beyond this material world and not involved in these illusions of the world. The creator has made the layer of soul which is attached to Jiva and the Atma at the same time. This layer is made for self-realization.

Mrityu (Death)

Mrityu is the death. Death is complete rest. The complete rest from the world's illusions and drama. Death is not the end of life. This a new beginning for the journey of the soul. Death is the major truth of life. No Matter if someone is a king or a beggar will die one day. The question "What is death", changed the life of Buddha and he got knowledge. To explore why we die is self-realisation.

Panch Prana (5 Life forces)

Prana is life force. We also consider Prana as Vayu. Vayu is our life force. Prana is directly related to our awareness, if our prana vayu is very relaxing and smooth, we will be calm. On the opposite, if we have anger, we will breathe fast or uncommonly.

There are 5 Prana as follows:

  • Prana
  • Udana
  • Vyana
  • Samana
  • Apana

Antyeshti Kriya (The last ceremony)

Antyeshti Kriya is the last ceremony. It is the ceremony before Dah Sanskar ( Cremation). Antyeshti Kriya is the most important ceremony according to ancient books such as Garuda Purana. One can only get the liberation of his Antyeshti Kriya done properly. Humans feel the energy of good people and bad people, good people definitely have some well-wishers who can do after-death ceremonies if they have no parents or siblings.

Dah Sanskar (Funeral)

Dah Sanskar is simply the funeral in Agni (fire) element. The word Dah simply means Burn. After the Antyeshti Kriya, Dah Sanskar is the last visible existence of humans. The body slowly and beautifully dissolves into the fire. In some cultures, they believe to merge in the earth but Hindus and Sanatani believe that we came from fire. The truth is that we came from fire. When the mother and father merge with each other and generate fire, it is the creation of a child.

Shava (Dead Body)

The Shava is a dead body that has no prana. Once all the Panch Prana (5 Vayu) leaves the body, it converts n Shava. The word Shavasna is also called corpse pose because the word shava means corpse. Shava does not have a mind and soul. Shava is the self-realization that all will leave you one day even if your own mind and soul.

Samadhi (Enlightenment)

Samadhi is the state of pure bliss and happiness. It is the one major aim and dream of every human. Samadhi is not moksha. Every human that gets Samadhi may have many chances to Moksha but the person who gets Moksha may not get Samadhi. Samadhi is called Enlightenment which is real and rare.